Monday, December 05, 2005

SEA Games Good News

Posted by GilaChess
After the disappointment of getting ZERO medals in the SEA games we finally have something good news. From Ching Kim Lye (relaying message from GM Ian Rogers):- Latest Good News!! FM Nicholas secured his first IM Norm yesterday & FM Wong just scores his 3rd & final IM norm today!! We will now have a new IM once FM Wong breaks the ELO 2400 pts barrier. Congratulations to both!! Hope for good news today for the others too...Keep your fingers crossed :-) As reported by coach GM Ian Rogers just now!! "Big Malaysian success yesterday when Nicholas Chan drew with leader Nguyen Ngoc Truongson, who had beaten Torre, Antonio and Megaranto in the previous three rounds! Chan should have won but failed to win an endgame with two extra pawns. Nonetheless the draw gave Chan his first IM norm. Chan needs to win today with Black against Antonio to have a slight chance for the bronze medal - probably even if he wins he will miss out on a tiebreak. Three other players can also score IM norms today - Wong needs a draw while Mok and Lim need a win. Wong plays Dinh Duc Trong, Mok plays Kyaw and Lim has the toughest job with Black against Handoko. Malaysia is still in bronze medal position in the team event but only just ahead of Singapore and Indonesia. Unfortunately, given their easier last round pairings, Singapore will be hot favourites to take the bronze medals from us - Vietnam already is sure of gold and the Philippines silver. In the women's event, 14-year-old Wan Khye Theng lost her first game of the event in round seven and is now out of medal contention. Scores: Chan 5/8 Wong 4.5 Mas, Lim 4 Mok 3.5 Wan 4/8 Marmono 3.5 Update: Wong secured a quick draw in the final round and now has his third IM norm. He will be an International Master as soon as his rating goes over 2400." TODAY'S FINAL ROUND 9 PAIRINGS (05/11/2005) GM Joey Antonio vs. FM Nicholas Chan FM Wong Zi Jing 1/2-1/2 FM Dinh Duc Trong IM Ma Hafizulhelmi vs. Ronald Dableo GM Edhi Handoko vs. FM Lim Yee Weng FM Kyaw Lin Naing vs. FM Mok Tze Meng Wan Khye Theng vs. WCM Suzanna Sia Xin Yun Roslina Marmono vs Zinmar Min Than